How to Reset your WordPress with the WP Reset Plugin?

wp reset plugin

If you are looking for an easy way to reset your WordPress website and get started with a fresh installation, you must install the WP Reset plugin. By installing this plugin, you can reset your WordPress website to its default state and also will be able to speed up plugin & theme testing, debugging & coding by controlling, resetting & restoring the WordPress environment in just one click.

wp reset plugin

Roles of the WP Reset Plugin

Here are the functions served by the WP Reset plugin:

  • It helps with deleting all of the customization you might have made and erasing all of the content on the site.
  • You can delete all posts and pages you have created
  • It will help you delete database tables, from default ones to the custom ones that have been used by default tables.
  • It will also delete your media entries, comments and custom post type
  • You can also get rid of these users if there are too many. However, the currently logged in user will be able to have their access along with their username and Password. Once the reset is completed, this user will be logged. However, they will be able to log in.

If you are afraid that this ‘Reset’ will delete all your files, then you better be not concerned. All your themes/plugins, files, and media files that have been uploaded to the wp-upload folder, will stay there.

How to use WP Reset to reset your Website?

With a very easy setup and installation process in the pipeline, you can effectively use the WP Reset plugin to reset your website with a single click.

Here’s what you will have to do:

  1. Go to the WordPress repository and enter the plugin name ‘WP Reset’ in the search field. You will find the plugin and click on this link.
  2. Download the plugin.
  3. Alternatively, you can enter your site’s dashboard and go to Plugins, then click ‘Add New’
  4. Enter “wp reset” in search and hit ‘Enter’
  5. Click on “Install Now”

You can also install and upload the plugin manually: What you will have to do so:

  1. Download the latest stable version from downloads.wordpress.org/plugin/wp-reset.latest-stable.zip
  2. A zip folder will be downloaded. You will have to unzip it and upload it to the /wp-content/plugins/ folder
  3. You will have to then enter your WordPress admin dashboard and visit the ‘Plugins’ section’
  4. Click on ‘WP Reset’ and then click ‘Activate’

To get started with the plugin, visit the ‘Tools’ menu under the plugin’s admin page. Once you choose to reset your WordPress website using this WP Reset plugin, it will quickly reset the site’s database to the default installation values. Without customizing any files, this plugin deletes all customizations and content. It will never lead to accidental loss of data as it runs on multiple fail-safe mechanisms. Hence, it is safe to use.

Here’s how you can use the WP Reset plugin:

install wp reset plugin

Remember that you should always take a backup of your website content before you try to reset the website using this plugin.

Once you click on the ‘Reset’ plugin, the plugin will ask you to confirm the action one more time.

This is important so that you don’t end up resetting your website by fault or accidental clicking on the ‘Reset’ button. You will have to confirm the action one more time because there is NO UNDO.

reset

Once you click on the button, everything will be reset. Here’s a detailed breakdown of the same:

RESETTING WILL DELETE:

  • all posts, pages, custom post types, comments, media entries, users
  • all default WP database tables
  • all custom database tables that have the same prefix table prefix as
  • the one defined in wp-config.php and used by default tables

You can also selectively delete the website content.

delete

RESETTING WILL NOT DELETE OR MODIFY:

  • media files – they remain in the wp-uploads folder untouched but will no longer be listed under Media in admin
  • no files are touched; plugins, themes, uploads – everything stays
  • site title, WordPress address, site address, site language and search engine visibility settings
  • currently logged in user will be restored with the current username and password

post reset

Once done with the ‘Reset’, you will have the option to reactivate the plugin if you choose to do so in the post-reset options. You will also be able to reactive/keep all your favorite plugins/themes. If you plan to use this plugin in the near future, you can keep the plugin. To re-access, you only will have to enable it.

The WP Reset plugin currently has over 100,000+active users and it is a highly rated free plugin. So, make sure that you try it out if you are looking to reset your WordPress website in a single click.

Catherrine Garcia is a web developer and master in developing WordPress theme. She is also an enthusiast blogger who loves to share her knowledge with other bloggers.
No comments yet! You be the first to comment.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

 

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.